Disturbing Facts About Organic Food

Nom, nom, ummmm?
Share on Facebook: http://on.fb.me/1d7Tobr
Like BuzzFeedVideo on Facebook: http://on.fb.me/1ilcE7k
Share on Twitter: http://bit.ly/1d7TrnI

RESOURCES:
http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/science-sushi/2011/07/18/mythbusting-101-organic-farming-conventional-agriculture/

http://www.rd.com/slideshows/13-things-you-didnt-know-about-organic-food/#ixzz2nxBNYxJh

https://www.msu.edu/~howardp/organicindustry.html

http://www.rd.com/slideshows/13-things-you-didnt-know-about-organic-food/#ixzz2nxEgTP00

http://tlc.howstuffworks.com/family/how-much-more-does-organic-food-cost-and-why.htm

http://organicfarms.wsu.edu/blog/global-environment/organic-farming-environmental-benefit-yield-cost/

FLICKR CREATIVE COMMONS PHOTOS:
Apples in Hardanger
apples by tecfan

Pears
pears by S Baker

Bananas
bananas by ian ransley design

Tomatoes
tomatoes by iamrenny

Lily's Organic Produce, Satellite Beach FL
tangerines by rusty clark

Soybean Field
soybeans by United Soybean Board

Kelowna Wine and Cuisine
organic seafood by kelowna09

Tomatos
tomatoes by Thelonius Gonzo

Odwalla
odwalla by Hanna Rosin

Are Organic Foods Safer?

Organic food consumption appears to reduce exposure to pesticide residues and antibiotic-resistant bacteria.

Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter at http://www.nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and get a free excerpt from his latest NYT Bestseller HOW NOT TO DIE. (All proceeds Dr. Greger receives from the sales of his books, DVDs, and speaking engagements go to support the 501c3 nonprofit that runs NutritionFacts.org.)

This is the second of a 5 part video series on organic versus conventional foods. What about the relative nutrient content? See my last: Are Organic Foods More Nutritious? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Are-Organic-Foods-More-Nutritious)

Here’s what to look forward to next:
• How to Make Your Own Fruit and Vegetable Wash (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-make-your-own-fruit-and-vegetable-wash)
• Are Organic Foods Healthier? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-organic-foods-healthier)
• Are the Benefits of Organic Food Underrated or Overrated? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-the-benefits-of-organic-food-underrated-or-overrated)

For more on the infectious disease implications of organic vs. conventional, see Superbugs in Conventional vs. Organic Chicken (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/superbugs-in-conventional-vs-organic-chicken/). Organic produce may be safer too. See: Norovirus Food Poisoning from Pesticides (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/norovirus-food-poisoning-from-pesticides/). Organic eggs may also have lower (http://aje.oxfordjournals.org/content/156/7/654.long) Salmonella risk, which is an egg-borne epidemic every year in the U.S. See my video Who Says Eggs Aren’t Healthy or Safe? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/who-says-eggs-arent-healthy-or-safe/)

More on Parkinson’s and pesticides in Preventing Parkinson’s Disease With Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/preventing-parkinsons-disease-with-diet/).

Those surprised by the California data might have missed my video California Children Are Contaminated (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/california-children-are-contaminated/).

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-organic-foods-safer and he’ll try to answer it!

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Podcast: http://nutritionfacts.org/audio/
• Subscribe: http://http://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate

38 Comments

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Blue Captcha Image
Refresh

*