What is fossil fuel divestment and why does it matter? | Keep it in the ground

Climate change can be tackled using a very simple idea – divestment. It means taking your money away from companies involved in extracting fossil fuels.
Subscribe to The Guardian ► http://is.gd/subscribeguardian
Here, Guardian journalist and US author Bill McKibben explains where the idea came from; why it’s been central to any environment solution; its successful application in history; and the extent to which this exciting socially-driven movement will help add crucial pressure for change on business leaders and politicians the world over.
Sign the petition ► http://bit.ly/kiitgpetition
Guardian website ► http://is.gd/guardianhome

Endboard videos:
This Changes Everything – Naomi Klein’s documentary ► http://bit.ly/thischangeseverythingfilm
Why do we need to keep it in the ground? ► http://bit.ly/keepitinthegroundyt

Keep it in the ground podcasts ► http://bit.ly/keepitpodcasts
Keep it in the ground homepage ► http://bit.ly/kiitghome

Guardian playlists:

Comment is Free ► http://is.gd/cifplaylist
Guardian Docs ► http://is.gd/guardiandocs
Guardian Animations & Explanations ►http://is.gd/explainers
Guardian Investigations ► http://is.gd/guardianinvestigations

Other Guardian channels on YouTube:

Watch Me Date ► http://is.gd/watchmedate
Guardian Football ► http://is.gd/guardianfootball
Guardian Music ► http://is.gd/guardianYTmusic
Guardian Australia ► http://is.gd/guardianaustralia
Guardian Tech ► http://is.gd/guardiantech
Guardian Culture ► http://is.gd/guardianculture
Guardian Wires ► http://is.gd/guardianwires
Guardian Food ► http://is.gd/guardianfood

More Guardian videos:

Mos Def force fed in Gitmo procedure ► http://is.gd/mosdef
Edward Snowden interview ► http://is.gd/snowdeninterview2014
Bangladeshi Sex Workers take steroids ► http://is.gd/sexworkers
How your phone spies on you ► http://is.gd/phonespying
What is freedom today? ► http://is.gd/zizekcif
30 Stone man enters Mr Gay UK ► http://is.gd/stavros
Fighting Isis in Kobani ► http://is.gd/fightingisis
How does Ebola kill? ► http://is.gd/ebolakills
The SlumGods of Mumbai ► http://is.gd/slumgods
Jesus “would have been an atheist” ► http://is.gd/dawkinsjesus
The new global menace ► http://is.gd/owenjonescif
Video Rating: / 5

11 Comments

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Blue Captcha Image
Refresh

*